the dreamer of dreams

creations by cate

you remind me of the babe

leave a comment »

For the same Labyrinth swap as mentioned in my last post, I decided I wanted to stretch myself a bit and start playing with a new medium: paperclay. It’s a no bake clay and dries extremely lightweight which was perfect for my needs.  I actually ended up using more of this fantastic creation on a second project, too.

First, we have the ever popular Demon/Devil (and in this case, Goblin) Horns:

 

A third pair looking much like the first set was also sent to my partner. All three were molded with paperclay and then painted with Jacquard Lumiere  paints then sealed. I don’t think I did too bad with my first attempt and plan on making more in the future.

My second project as a bit more daunting than the first but like the horns, I was pleased with the way it turned out.

I bring you a Goblins’ Ball Mask:

It was molded on a domino mask then pulled off to dry after it cracked. 😦 Fortunately, paperclay is easy to build on and I was able to repair the break with no problem. Again, it was painted with Jacquard Lumiere paints and decorated with glass pebbles and feathers.  It’s not meant to be worn, unfortunately, but it make for great wall art.

I really enjoyed working with the paperclay and will most definitely be using more of it in the future. I’m currently trying to find a way to incorporate it into my jewelry designs – without it breaking, of course.

– Cate

Written by Cate

May 21, 2010 at 10:55 am

Posted in clay, swap

Leave a Reply

